Am I a misogynist?

That, I am a men’s rights activist is a known fact and can be very well be deduced from the blogs and websites that I maintain. Below is the list,

  1. www.wemen.us
  2. https://legalfighter.wordpress.com
  3. http://legalfighter.instablogs.com

I also involve in a lot of social research on men and attitudes of society, in general, towards men. And my interactions with the world around me form a crucial part of it. It so happened that a couple of days back, one of my female friends (ex-colleague) pinged me and told me, “You seem to have become a misogynist (woman-hater)”, to which I asked, “Why so?”. She replied that she has been following my blogs for quite some time and that she agrees to some part of it but everything cannot be completely right and completely wrong. So I told, “I am fighting for men’s rights and if that appears as misogyny, then so be it.” The chat ended.

I found the chat really interesting, because it was rampant misandry (male-hatred) around me that turned me into a men’s rights activist and that’s when I realized how men have been actually fooled by the society in the name of chivalry, protector and provider. How the emotional health of men has been jeopardized in order to convert them into numb PROTECTORS and UNPAID BODYGUARDS? And because of this, the society invests very low emotional resources in men and considers them as disposable entities and the most visible manifestation of this Male Disposability is in the fact that misandry is a social norm and considered to be a way of life.

As a result, societal inaction on misandry is no surprise unless one really gets hit by it and becomes a “Punished Victim” and a “De-Facto Stereotyped Criminal”. Whereas, as women have mostly been protected by men, they are considered to be a great social asset and misogyny (female hatred), even in its presumed forms, is protested against.

Whereas the real misandrists, who are spearheading the movement for “Women’s Empowerment” and piggybacking male-hatred on it, and those who are responsible for making misandry a social norm,  have never been asked, “You seem to have become a misandrist and that everything cannot be completely right or wrong, etc.”

But today, when I fighting for RIGHT to PEACEFUL EXISTENCE of men by working to eliminate misandry, I get labeled as a misogynist, and hence after that chat with my friend, I just asked myself,

  1. Is it wrong to speak truth?
  2. Is it wrong to expose falsehood?
  3. Is it a crime to fight for human rights for men?
  4. Am I a misogynist?

The answer is difficult, as it depends on the perspective one takes to look at the fight that I am fighting. If fighting FOR MEN, is AGAINST WOMEN, I am happy to be misogynist, else, social attitudes need a serious change to understand the men’s rights movement.

And it is only the society can answer – Am I a misogynist?

5 thoughts on “Am I a misogynist?

  1. NO VIRAG, what you are doing is NOT a misogynist. And you rightly answered by yourself:-

    Whereas the real misandrists, who are spearheading the movement for “Women’s Empowerment” and piggybacking male-hatred on it, and those who are responsible for making misandry a social norm, have never been asked, “You seem to have become a misandrist and that everything cannot be completely right or wrong, etc.”

    When people will obviously no answers they try to intimidate. For me You, Swarup, Gokul and Vakharia are inspiration. I am following all your articles and TV recordings, since Jan/Feb 2008. And I really found spirits to fight, and fight with the facts, figures, evidence, common sense. And overall a complete healing touch to me. Even I forwarded these matters to my friends. Once I asked them personally to delete from the mail list, and they said NO and requested me to continue sending……

    Hope I made you understand.

  2. Very Good article!

    Off late, I’ve started separating word woman from female gender. There are many women around me that I admire and there are few human females that I’d not flinch even if they were shot at in front of me.

    My answer to you is that you are just realized soul (liberated or not
    depends on other factors not yet known to me).

  3. If someone perceives men’s right activists as anti-women its his/her limitation of comprehension, not a fault on the activists part.

    This limitation is largely driven and sustained by social conditioning which says that man should sacrifice for woman and family, man should tolerate extreme pain without crying out for help, man should let the woman in before he enters, man should take the bullet for the woman, etc., when someone acts opposite to this he/she is quickly categorised as a misogynist… some times its a natural reflex, sometimes its a trained tactics to bring back the deviant behaviour to whats called as an ‘expected behaviour’.

  4. No dude you are not a misogynist. Fighting against the types of systemic injustices that men suffer in Family Courts is a good and righteous fight.

  5. You strike me as a pretty cool dude.

    Time for an international male block vote alliance. If interested, check my blog out. considering linking to me.

    Who knows what we can achieve together?

    Say no to all-female shortlists!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

